Current News

Magrath Handi Bus Info

We just want to inform you and promote the use of the Handibus!

The rates are as follows:

Town of Magrath round trip - $5.00

To Raymond round trip - $15.00

To Lethbridge round trip - $25.00

(For each additional person the rate goes up $5.00 – divided equally)

To get in touch, just call 403-317-0737.


We would like to remind everyone that there is no skating allowed on the entrance pond this winter.  The pond will remain a construction site until next spring and there is sensitive wetland and other vegetation that is just getting established.  If you have any further questions contact the Town Office.

Water Charter Award

On November 17th Mayor Russ Barnett and Councillor DeVar Dahl received a Certificate of Recognition from the Oldman Watershed Council at a special presentation in Lethbridge. The award was in recognition of community initiatives involving environmental stewardship and storm water management. The Town of Magrath is a member of the Council and a signatory of its Southern Alberta Water Charter.

Mayor and Councillors

We have another great team that is committed to making our community a great place to live and build a business. This picture of Mayor Barnett and his Council Elect was taken following their swearing in and organization meeting on October 24th. 

Top Row: Councillor Devar Dahl, Councillor Craig Godlonton, Councillor Richard Van Ee, Councillor Fernando Morales Llan

Bottom Row: Councillor Brian Oliver, Mayor Russ Barnett, Councillor Brenda Beck

North Entrance

North Entrance is now open! Thank you for your patience. 

It’s coming along.  

Our north entrance pond is looking great!  We would like to ask the public to stay off the sprayed areas.  Our contractors have currently sprayed a grass and soil stabilization mix along the trail and around the pond.  Thank you for your cooperation.


As part of the flood mitigation and drainage project that is currently underway on our community’s northern boundary, our north entrance on Highway 62 will be temporarily closed for several days for related construction purposes. This major road will be closed on Wednesday, October 18th and is currently expected to reopen the morning of Tuesday, October 24th. We apologize for any inconvenience caused, and will keep you posted on any changes to this schedule. Please use alternative entrances/exits.

These are the unofficial results from the voting

Elected Mayor

Russ Barnett – 585

Elected Councillors

Brian Oliver - 517

Brenda Beck - 513

DeVar Dahl - 496

Craig Godlonton - 491

Fernando Morales - 459

Richard Van Ee – 447


Not Elected -

Brett Nish – 318

Gerry Baril - 441

Roch DeMeare - 348

We would like to thank all candidates for running! Also thank you to the 917 voters that came out to vote!  Which was a great turn out at 56% of eligible voters which is slightly up from 2013 which had 54%.

Official results will not be posted until Friday, October 20, 2017 at noon pending candidates option for recount.